NCATS Visits the ACTSI

Front Row (L to R):

(1)    Jeff Sands, MD – ACTSI Co-Principal Investigator & Pilot Grants Director
Juha P. Kokko Professor of Medicine and Physiology
Director, Renal Division
Executive Vice Chair, Department of Medicine
Emory University School of Medicine

(2)    Elaine Collier, MD – National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (NCATS), Acting Co-Director, Division of Clinical Innovation (DCI), NIH

(3)    Barbara Stoll, MD – ACTSI Co-Principal Investigator, Pediatrics
George W. Brumley, Jr. Professor and Chair of Pediatrics, Emory University School of Medicine
President, Emory-Children's Center
Senior Vice President and Chief Academic Officer, Children's Healthcare of Atlanta

(4)    Henry Blumenthal, MD – ACTSI Research Education, Training & Career Development (RETCD) Director
Professor of Medicine and Epidemiology, Division of Infectious Diseases
Emory University School of Medicine

Middle Row (L to R):

(1)    Carlton Dampier, MD – ACTSI Ethics & Regulatory Director & Pediatrics Co-Director
Assistant Dean for Clinical Research
Professor of Pediatrics
Emory University School of Medicine

(2)    Joseph Lipscomb, PhD – ACTSI-Winship Cancer Institute Advisor
Professor, Health Policy and Management, Rollins School of Public Health
Georgia Cancer Coalition Distinguished Cancer Scholar
Emory University

(3)    Chris Austin, MD – National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (NCATS) Director, NIH

(4)    David Stephens, MD – ACTSI Principal Investigator
Stephen W. Schwarzmann Distinguished Professor of Medicine
Director, Division of Infectious Diseases, Department of Medicine
Vice President for Research
Emory University

(5)    Elizabeth Ofili, MD, MPH – ACTSI Senior Co-Principal Investigator
Associate Dean for Clinical Research
Director, Clinical Research Center
Chief of Cardiology and Professor, Department of Medicine
Morehouse School of Medicine

(6)    Brani Vidakovic, PhD – ACTSI Biostatistics, Epidemiology & Research Design Co-Director, Georgia Tech
Professor, Wallace H. Coulter Department of Biomedical Engineering, Georgia Tech

(7)    James Lillard, PhD, MBA
Assistant Dean for Research, Morehouse School of Medicine

Back Row (L to R):

(1)    Thomas Ziegler, MD – ACTSI Clinical Research Network Associate Director & Research Education, Training & Career Development Co-Director
Director, Center for Clinical & Molecular Nutrition
Professor of Medicine
Division of Endocrinology, Metablism and Lipids
Emory University School of Medicine

(2)    Vincent (Craig) Bond, PhD
Professor, Department of Microbiology, Biochemistry and Immunology

Director, Research Centers in Minority Institutions (RCMI)

Morehouse School of Medicine

(3)    Larry McIntire, PhD
The Wallace H. Coulter Chair, Coulter Department of Biomedical Engineering at Georgia Tech and Emory University

(4)    Doug Paulsen, PhD – ACTSI Research Education, Training & Career Development Executive Committee
Associate Dean for Graduate Studies
Director, PhD Program in Biomedical Sciences
Professor, Anatomy & Neurobiology
Morehouse School of Medicine

(5)    Arlene Chapman, MD – ACTSI Co-Principal Investigator & Clinical Research Network Director
Professor of Medicine
Associate Director Nephrology Fellowship Program
Director, Hypertension and Renal Diseases Research Center
Emory University School of Medicine

(6)    Linda McCauley, PhD, RN, FAAN, FAAOHN – ACTSI Co-Principal Investigator, Emory School of Nursing
Dean and Professor, Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing
Professor, Department of Environmental Health, Rollins School of Public Health
Emory University

Chris Austin, MD, director of the National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (NCATS) of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), visited the Atlanta Clinical & Translational Science Institute, including visits to Emory University and Morehouse School of Medicine, on April 1, 2013.

Upcoming Events

    View All Events

    Latest News


    Georgia CTSA at UGA: Henry Young, PhD Improving Medication Use & Enhancing Care Communication

    In 2013, Henry Young, PhD joined the University of Georgia (UGA) as the Kroger Associate Professor in Community Pharmacy. For the Georgia Clinical & Translational Science Alliance (Georgia CTSA) he is a co-director of the Integrating Special...