Congratulations All Around

Dr. Igho Ofotokun, ACTSI’s Research Education, Training & Career Development (RETCD) Executive Committee member and scholar, was elected to receive the 2013 HIV Medicine Association HIV Research Award. This national award recognizes HIVMA members who have made outstanding contributions to HIV medicine in clinical or basic research. Ofotokun’s  research activities have focused on translation work in women’s health in the setting of HIV-infection. His work has attracted multiple NIH awards including a recently completed NIH K-23 award, two active NIH R01 awards and a recent NIH-funded Emory Women Interagency HIV Cohort Study U01 award. He was nominated by ACTSI investigators, Drs. Carlos del Rio and Jeff Lennox.

The Georgia CTSA Clinical Research Centers (GCRCs) administrative director, Debora Clem recently passed the Research Administrators Certification exam.

Emory’s Department of Medicine presented ACTSI’s Research Education, Training & Career Development program director, Dr. Henry Blumberg with the Shanthi V. Sitaraman Silver Pear Mentoring Award. The award is presented to Emory Department of Medicine faculty who have demonstrated outstanding mentoring to early career faculty within the department during the past year.  Awards are presented for mentoring of faculty primarily in the clinician educator or service area and for those primarily in the research area. 

Read More