Recent ACTSI Trainee & Scholar Accomplishments

All Atlanta Clinical & Translational Science Institute (ACTSI) first-year KL2 scholars and all current TL1 trainees attended Translational Science 2014. The goal of the ACTSI KL2-Mentored Clinical and Translational Research Scholars program is to support career development for junior faculty (MD, PhD, or MD/PhD) from a wide variety of disciplines at Emory University, Morehouse School of Medicine, and Georgia Institute of Technology to become independent, established, and ethical clinical and/or translational research investigators. The ACTSI established the TL1-Medical Scientist TrainingMD/MSCR and PhD/MSCR dual degree programs to support predoctoral clinical and translational research training for medical students and other health professionals pursuing doctoral degrees in public health, biomedical sciences and nursing. Translational Science 2014 is jointly sponsored by the Association for Clinical and Translational Science (ACTS) and American Federation for Medical Research (AFMR). The mission of the meeting is to bring together all of the disciplines involved in clinical and translational research, for the shared benefits of networking and education. Some ACTSI KL2 and TL1s gave poster presentations and four were chosen for oral presentations – Amit Shah, Jennifer Felger, Max Adelman, Anya Mezina.

Also, three of the current ACTSI TL1 trainees – Max Adelman, Anya Mezina, and Madeleine Bertha (all medical students) recently applied for grants and were successfully awarded.

Max Adelman

AMA Foundation 2014 Seed Grant – Research Program Economic Evaluation of a WHO-recommended Screening Algorithm and Nucleic Acidamplification Test (Xpert MTB/RIF) for the Diagnosis of Active Pulmonary Tuberculosis in HIV Patients in Low Income

Madeleine Bertha

American Gastroenterological Association Student Research Fellowship Award

Anya Mezina

American Gastroenterological Association (AGA) Research Foundation, Student Research Fellowship Award

Congratulations ACTSI trainees and scholars!